Reading Recap: January 2020

Happy New Year! I love turning the page on a calendar. It’s a fresh start, a year full of potential! What I don’t love is the actual month of January. It was so long. I feel like I said that a lot in 2019, that ‘it was a long month’. I hope this trend doesn’t carry on for the rest of the year. It is seasonal depression time, folks! Let’s be gentle with one another. I read six books in January. Three I thoroughly enjoyed and three that we not for me. Without intending to, I read exclusively female authors. I’d love to hear what you read in January!

If you want to know more about what I’m reading, you can follow my Bookstagram @thelazybookshelf. Or you can follow me @heymeff for general silliness and sporadic posting.

I had high hopes for this one because it came recommended from one of my favorite Bookstagram personalities, Annie Jones of the Bookshelf. It took a few tries to get into the story and man, the characters were all so unlikable that I found myself cringing. It’s set in New Orleans and the writing was pretty good, but this one wasn’t for me.

I’ve had Melinda Gates’s book on my shelf for at least a year! I wrongly assumed that it would be a little boring and filled with info that I already knew a lot about. Instead, I underlined so many sentences and phrases. I learned so. much. It made me want to quit my job and join a movement to empower women, get birth control to everyone, and shout her message from the rooftops. Don’t miss this one. It’s my first 5 star read of 2020.

This book. I had a hard time talking about it on Instagram because I wanted to be respectful of the author. I thought the writing was very overdone. It felt like she was trying too hard. The story is about a group of writing students who enact revenge on a professor for something she did. The revenge happens on page 300 and the entire plot made no sense to me. I’d love for someone else to read it so we can talk about it! I’ve only seen positive reviews on the internet.

I’m so proud of myself for reading 3 backlist books in January! This came to me through The Fox Box which is a book subscription that sends gently used books which I love. I’d call this middle grade. It would be great for fans of Anne of Green Gables and The War That Saved My Life. It made great bedtime reading.

I read Jess Kidd’s debut called ‘Himself’ several years ago and was so intrigued by the story. I’m not usually into fantasy or magical realism (unless it’s Erin Morgenstern) but Kidd’s books have such a unique quality that it’s hard to explain. Things In Jars is weird but not creepy, and centers around a missing child, her mysterious ailment, and a detective who may or may not have a ghost as a friend and partner.

Sometimes a book comes along that you read out of a sense of duty, and that’s how I felt about Chanel’s book originally. When I finished it, I wanted to put it into the hands of every. single. person. in the United States. It is devastating, brilliantly written, hopeful, and wise beyond it’s time. Chanel’s writing is so tender and vulnerable that I feel like she and I are lifelong friends now. Please read this book.

What did you read in January?

What else do you want to know about the books I’m reading?

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s